Oktoberfest Bomb Attack Documentation

The Oktoberfest Bomb Attack Documentation has been opened on 26 September 2020.

The programme "40 Years Oktoberfest Bomb Attack" (10 September until 29 Oktober 2020) can be found here.

 

The ‘Theresienwiese’ in Munich – famous as the venue of the largest Volksfest beer festival and fair in the world – was the scene of a right-wing extremist bomb attack in 1980. For 234 people, an evening at the ‘Wiesn’ on 26 September ended in an act of brutal violence.

The Oktoberfest bomb attack is the worst act of terrorism in the history of the Federal Republic of Germany. Nevertheless, it has been virtually eliminated from the collective memory. The reasons that led to this act have still not been clarified in full to this day and possible accomplices not brought to justice.

The documentation at the site of the attack provides information about what happened. It commemorates the victims, gives survivors and relatives as well as eyewitnesses a voice and traces society’s response to the attack up to the present day.

Dokumentation Oktoberfest-Attentat

Die Dokumentation Oktoberfest-Attentat wurde am 26. September 2020 der Öffentlichkeit übergeben.
Das Programm "40 Jahre Oktoberfest-Attentat" (10. September bis 29. Oktober 2020) finden Sie unter Veranstaltungen.

 

Die Münchner Theresienwiese – bekannt für das größte Volksfest der Welt – war 1980 Tatort eines rechtsextremistisch motivierten Bombenanschlags. Für 234 Menschen endete der Wiesn-Abend des 26. Septembers mit brutaler Gewalt.

Das Oktoberfest-Attentat ist der schwerste Terrorakt in der Geschichte der Bundesrepublik Deutschland. Aus dem kollektiven Gedächtnis wurde er allerdings weitgehend verdrängt. Bis heute sind die Hintergründe der Tat nicht restlos geklärt, mögliche Mittäter*innen nicht überführt. 

Die Dokumentation am Ort des Attentats informiert über die Geschehnisse. Sie erinnert an die Opfer, lässt Überlebende und Angehörige sowie Augenzeug*innen zu Wort kommen und beschreibt den gesellschaftlichen Umgang mit dem Anschlag bis in die Gegenwart.